How Many States In India, Jan 17, 2021

List of 29 States and Capitals of India State Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (De jure – 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed)
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna
5 Chhattisgarh Raipur
6 Goa Panaji
7 Gujarat Gandhinagar
8 Haryana Chandigarh (shared with Punjab)
9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
10 Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)
11 Jharkhand Ranchi
12 Karnataka Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore)
13 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
14 Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
15 Maharashtra Mumbai
16 Manipur Imphal
17 Meghalaya Shillong
18 Mizoram Aizawl
19 Nagaland Kohima
20 Odisha Bhubaneswar
21 Punjab Chandigarh
22 Rajasthan Jaipur
23 Sikkim Gangtok
24 Tamil Nadu Chennai
25 Telangana Hyderabad (from June 2, 2014 – shared with Andhra Pradesh)
26 Tripura Agartala
27 Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
28 Uttarakhand Dehradun
29 West Bengal Kolkata

7 Union Territories of India Union Territory Capital
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair
2 Chandigarh Chandigarh
3 Dadar and Nagar Haveli Silvassa
4 Daman and Diu Daman
5 Delhi Delhi
6 Lakshadweep Kavaratti
7 Puducherry (Pondicherry) Pondicherry

India is located in South Asia and is officially known as the Republic of India. India has an estimated population of 133.92 crore (2017), making it the second most populous country in the world, compared to a total area of ​​3,287,263 sq km.

Governed by a parliamentary system, India is a federal constitutional republic and the world’s most populous democracy. There are 29 states and seven union territories in India. Each state and union territory of India has an administrative, legislative and judicial capital.

An administrative capital is where all the offices of the executive government are located. A legislative capital is where the state assembly convenes. A judicial capital is where the regional high courts are located.

All states and two union territories, Puducherry and the National Capital Region, have an elected form of government and legislatures. He is chaired by a Chief Minister who is elected for a five-year term. Other union territories are directly ruled by the central government. Under the States Reorganization Act of 1956, the states were reorganized on the basis of language.

The map above shows the locations of all states and union territories along with their capitals. The names of the states of India are written in capital letters and the state capitals are marked with black dots. State and international boundaries are also mentioned in the map. The table below the map lists the capital of India and the capitals of the states and union territories.

19 Comments on “How Many States In India, Jan 17, 2021”

  1. Hi there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us
    so I came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Outstanding blog and excellent style and design.

  2. I just want to mention I’m newbie to blogs and absolutely savored you’re blog. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You really come with amazing stories. Thanks for sharing your blog.

  3. I simply want to mention I am very new to weblog and certainly enjoyed this web blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You actually come with amazing articles and reviews. Cheers for sharing your web page.

  4. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your
    stuff prior to and you’re just too fantastic.
    I actually like what you’ve got here, really like what you’re saying and the way wherein you
    are saying it. You are making it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart.

    I can’t wait to learn far more from you. This is actually a great

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *